Posted in Disability, Poem

Labelled Disabled

My mother brought this poem home from work years ago.  It was written by a disabled person expressing how what we do and say impacts on them.  This really impacted on me many years ago that we make people feel they are unheard, not complete and second rate.  How judgemental!  Who are we to make another person, any human being feel this way.  I couldn’t resist sharing this poem as it still has a strong message for today…

Labelled Disabled
I live in a body labelled: ‘handicapped’
Stunted legs and arms askew
I live in a body I wouldn’t have chosen
But then few of us do.
 
People say I’m brave
As though bravery were a choice
I learned early not to scream
For mine is an unheard voice
 
The world is competitive
And I’m ill-equipped to compete
But I’m no less a person
Because I’m not complete
 
I live in a body labelled: ‘second rate’
But I feel second to none
When society knows the difference
Then my battle is won.   
Anon.
Author:

I'm not sure what to say about myself - I never know what to put here...I'm a thirtysomething female, who has a chocolate Labrador called Rosie. I love music, films, photography, walking, and reading.

Leave a Reply

